Before Liferay 6, a user could choose at what point he would like to increment the version of an article, when changes were made to that article. This way, for small changes, the version would not be incremented each time. Also, there was a possible to disable version increments altogether using a property.
In Liferay 6, automatic version increments are enabled by default and cannot be disabled (the property was removed). This means that:
- For any change, however small, the version is incremented. In most cases, a draft article is updated several times before being published.
- If a version is expired (i.e., it should no longer appear on the site because it contains outdated information), only the version you explicitly expire, which is always the latest version, is expired. Thus, while you would think that the article should not appear anywhere anymore, actually the previous version (which is still approved) will be displayed. This is certainly unexpected and in 99% of the cases undesired information.
There is one solution for both problems, which is to automatically expire previous versions when a new version is approved. Together with this solution, it would probably be much better if Liferay would reenable manual version increments, so that there is much more control over which versions are created for the articles.