The Recycle Bin allows holding deleted assets until they are permanently deleted.
The goal of this feature is to implement a configurable mechanism that allows deleting automatically the items in the recycle bin a certain period of time after they were moved into it. By default the automatic clean up will be disabled but it will be possible to enable it per site and to specify the maximum age of the recycle bin items before they are deleted. Such maximum age will be checked for daily. This check period will be configurable through portal.properties.
The configuration will be done through the "Site Settings". It will also be possible to set the defaults for all sites in "Portal Settings".
As an add on to this feature, and part of the same configuration options, it will be possible to disable the Recycle Bin entirely either for specific sites or for all sites. In the latter case, it would still be possible to enable it per site.